Adventure Book Series coming in July

Check out this new book series by S.J. Dahlstrom.
New Adventure Book Series Encourages Kids to Get Outdoors
The Adventures of Wilder Good, published by Paul Dry Books, is a new series of children’s and
young adult adventure books. The first title, The Elk Hunt : The Adventure Begins, is about 12
year-old Wilder Good and his mentor going on an elk hunt in the Colorado Rockies.
The Elk Hunt: The Adventure Begins (number one in The Adventures of Wilder Good series) is a book of fiction for young readers ( . Twelve-year-old Wilder Good goes on an elk hunt with his mentor in Colorado. The narrative is classic adventure story, in which an idealistic, modern ethos of hunting evolves—one in which hunting is not just harvesting a mature animal for food, but is a process for developing relationships with others and for becoming a stronger, more courageous individual.
As Wilder attempts to keep up, he seeks to prove himself a worthy companion to his older male mentor, Gale Loving. Gale takes Wilder on outdoor adventures because Wilder’s mother is struggling with cancer and his father is occupied with her care.
The two characters live in rural Colorado. They drive to the San Juan Mountains for a one-day hunt for elk.  During the hunt, Wilder is trusted with a rifle of his own. Both the narrative and the accompanying illustrations emphasize the importance of gun safety. During the hunt they have to face their fears and the limits of their strength as they deal with threats from fatigue, injury, and a wilderness predator. The story ends positively, and while The Elk Hunt is written with young readers in mind, readers of all ages will recognize and appreciate the characters and delight in the adventures of Wilder Good.
Readers are encouraged to visit the Wilder website and share their ‘Be Wilder’ experiences in the outdoors (

About Fawn Musick

Writings to make you Smile and Think. Fawn is an award winning newspaper columnist. She is an avid writer, blogger, and mom. Her advice comes from her years of mothering her eight children.
This entry was posted in Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Adventure Book Series coming in July

  1. Nathan Dahlstrom says:

    nice, thanks!




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s